Connect with us


There Is a Wave Of Republicans Leaving Congress. Here’s The List

The Republican leadership has acknowledged it has a problem: An increasing number of GOP lawmakers are announcing they’re leaving office rather than risk being humiliated trying to defend the scandal-ridden Trump administration in the next election.

Many lawmakers heading for the exits at a significantly faster rate than any other recent Congresses, and President Trump is reportedly worried.

As of the date of this report, at least 43 House Republicans have announced they are retiring, including House Speaker Paul Ryan. They’re leaving from all over the map, from southern New Jersey to southern New Mexico, suggesting Democrats could pick up more seats than previously anticipated in the 2018 midterm elections.

Democrats need to pick up 24 House seats to retake the majority from Republicans, who’ve had control of the House since 2011.

Scandals have also led to some resignations. Rep. Tim Murphy of Pennsylvania announced he would retire after the anti-abortion GOP congressman admitted that he had had an affair and had urged an abortion. Rep. Blake Farenthold (R-TX) announced after it was revealed he paid a settlement to a former aide who accused him of sexual harassment.

Here are some of the GOP lawmakers not seeking re-election:

Jim Bridenstine – OK
Sam Johnson – TX
Lynn Jenkins – KS
Ileana Ros-Lehtinen – FL
John J. Duncan Jr. – TN
Dave Reichert – WA
Charlie Dent- PA
Dave Trott – MI
Jeb Hensarling – TX
Lamar Smith – TX
Frank LoBiondo – NJ
Ted Poe – TX
Bob Goodlatte – VA
Joe Barton – TX
Bill Shuster – PA
Gregg Harper – MS
Ed Royce – CA
Darrell Issa – CA
Pat Meehan – PA
Rodney Frelinghuysen – NJ
Trey Gowdy – SC
Tom Rooney – FL
Ryan Costello – PA
Dennis Ross – F
Paul Ryan – WI
Jason Chaffetz – UT (Left to become a Fox News contributor)
Tim Murphy – PA
Pat Tiberi – OH
Trent Franks – AZ
Blake Farenthold – TX

A blue wave is coming. Get ready to vote!

Newsletter Signup

Click to comment
Newsletter Signup